You win some, you lose some

Today is Day 7 of my 15 day fit challenge and it was weigh in! A little recap of the last few days before we begin. For the first 3 days the scale did not move. I saw no change in weight and then it was New Year’s Eve and I didn’t care! We hosted a NYE party. I baked homemade chocolate chip cookies and the champagne, prosecco, cava, gin, wine all flowed like a beautiful sparkling river through our house. Good thing is, the scale did not go up the next day so I consider myself lucky. I figured I had blown it with NYE and was also not drinking 1 gallon of water per day, which according to the other forum concerns is a must. For the most part I am doing the diet, but it’s the water intake that I’m not getting.

As the workouts persisted, I continued to get more and more sore with each passing day. The last time I was this sore was December 2000. That was 17 years ago but I remember it clearly. It was my last semester of college and I needed to take a health and sciences class so I signed up for Ballet 101. By that point I had almost 15 years of ballet experience and the class was a breeze. Our professor had us all participate in an audition for a “free class”. That turned out to be one of the most painful experiences of my life until this week. This past week I could not walk. I was in pain from head to toe. I may have had the flu but I don’t know because I was in so much pain. I still feel it today, but it’s not so bad.

However, for today’s weigh in, I snapped another photo and took my measurements and finally saw progress. I’m a believer in the photos. It’s amazing what can happen in a short amount of time. I’m down almost 3 lbs and am losing inches all around. I went into the gym today for upper body. This would be the second time I completed this workout. I blogged about it last week where the final plyo portion of the workout had me in tears. This time I still didn’t get through all of the sets but I was able to jump up and down for a bit without losing my breath. Victory!! I always like to finish my workout by hanging from a pull-up bar to stretch out. While hanging from that bar, I tried what I always try which is to pull myself up…AND I DID! One full unassisted pull-up. This is years in the making and it felt so good. For the last six months I have been adding assisted pull-ups to every workout just to strengthen my back. Well, today it paid off.

These are the types of victories that when you see progress it motivates you to keep going. I know there will be some good and bad days but for today, I’m going to enjoy this personal victory.

Leave a Reply

