I’m a believer…

If you read through my last post, you will know that I’m attempting a 15 day fitness challenge. Yesterday was Day 1 and I’ve just completed Day 2 so I thought I’d give a little recap.

Day 1 requires you to take measurements and take a before photo. I’ve never done this before mainly because I hate taking photos, especially that kind of photo. I did it anyway, added a little emoji to my face and sent my measurements along.

I also needed to acquire some groceries. Signing up for the challenge gives you a special nutrition e-book. A total of 20 recipes are provided for breakfast, snacks, lunch and dinner. They are all really interesting and not what you may think the norm for a diet. At first I was concerned as the private Facebook community was spending $100-$150 on groceries. This is very high but I spent about $60 so my guess is they are choosing most of the recipes as opposed to a few that will be repeats.

Day 1 workout is legs. I started 2 days later and had read post after post about how sore everyone was. Working out on a regular basis, I chalked this up to inexperience in the gym. A little bit of snobbery, perhaps? Well, after the first set, I had my ass handed to me. And that continued throughout the entire workout. I was not necessarily sore today but I worked muscles at a capacity in ways I don’t normally work them. This totally got me excited because I realize my workout has gotten a bit stagnant so I’m ready to shake things up for the next couple of weeks.

Day 2 workout is upper body and plyometrics. Again, while I already complete most of these exercises, I don’t do them in this capacity and in this order so it was a nice change to my workout. However, I don’t do plyo because it’s H-A-R-D!!!! This is a big weakness but I do feel motivated to get better at it. The plyo routine had me embarrassingly heaving and seeing spots! Cardio has always been my downfall so maybe this will give me a goal to reach for.

As far as the food goes, the hardest part is trying to get down some oatmeal. I currently eat greek yogurt and blueberries and this was on the breakfast recipe list plus adding oatmeal and a scoop of protein powder. Do you know what’s worse than eating oatmeal? Mixing it with yogurt and blueberries. I couldn’t! So I had two separate bowls.

I’m also finding the Facebook community to be motivational. The trainer actually responds to almost everyone’s post and it’s helpful to hear how everyone else is approaching the challenge. I’ll post more in a few days. The next weigh in is not for another 5 days so I’ll definitely check in at that point to see if I’ve made any progress.

Leave a Reply

